# **Indian Medical** Association of New England Newsletter



# Quarter 4 Supplement: December 2012

## **MESSAGE FROM THE PRESIDENT**

Dear IMANE Members and Friends,

It is with mixed feelings that I write this final missive to you for 2012 as the youngest President of the oldest Indian medical organization in the United States. It has been a remarkable year for health care between India's achievement of celebrating one year being polio free in January and the Supreme Court ruling on the Affordable Care Act in July. It has also been an inspiring journey for all of us on the 2012 Executive Committee and Board of Trustees with many milestones achieved for IMANE.



Our 34th Annual Meeting was held on November 17, 2012 at the Taj Hotel in Boston and I am pleased to say that it was a phenomenal success. Our speakers, Dr. Richard Aghababian, President of the Massachusetts Medical Society, and Dr. Sanjiv Chopra, our keynote speaker, incorporated many aspects of our 2012 mentorship theme into their address to the audience. We had more young physicians in attendance this year than at any prior Annual Meeting and it was encouraging to see our senior physicians welcoming our younger colleagues to the IMANE family.

We were also honored with the presence of Dr. Jamila Khalil, President of the Association of Pakistani Physicians of New England and Manisha Bhatt, President of the South Asian Bar Association of Greater Boston. Collaboration with other organizations has been a key force behind many of IMANE's activities this past year, especially in the arena of community service. Many of you may have noticed that the final December photo for the NEJM 2012 Calendar highlighted the tuberculosis epidemic in the United States in the 1950s. TB continues to affect the Indian community in Massachusetts and attendees at the Annual Meeting were able to learn more about IMANE's partnership with the Indian Circle of Caring and the Massachusetts Department of Public Health on the Community Initiative for Tuberculosis Education, an important collaboration that hopes to increase awareness of tuberculosis and its treatment among the Indian community through various focus groups led by the Department of Public Health and IMANE physicians. Please contact Kate Rose Bobseine at MDPH (617-983-6995) if you are interested in helping with this important project.

IMANE also honored four remarkable life members at the Annual Meeting. Dr. Ammani Dasari was awarded the 2012 IMANE Distinguished Community Service Award in recognition of her outstanding community service contributions in New England, the USA and abroad. Drs Onaly Kapasi, Sahdev Passey and Manorama Mathur were awarded the President's Award for their outstanding dedication to IMANE and valuable roles as mentors to physicians of all ages. Biographies of our award recipients are featured in the Annual Meeting Brochure which is available on the <u>IMANE</u> website.

I want to say that I've enjoyed sending you the quarterly newsletters over the past year, detailing our activities, member accomplishments, and highlighting key mentors in IMANE's membership community, notably, Dr. Victor Saldanha, Dr. Onaly Kapasi, and Dr. Raj Goyal. The newsletters are available on our newly updated <u>IMANE website</u> along with information on how to join our exclusive <u>Linked In</u> group, a members-only benefit introduced this year. Please enjoy a sampling of some photos from the Annual Meeting featured in this newsletter, including a preview of our 2013 Executive Committee, led by incoming 2013 President, Dr. Manju Sheth. The full album will be available soon on our website. Happy Holidays and I wish you all the best for the coming year.

- Sucheta Doshi, MD MPH

## 2012 Annual Meeting: Pictorial Review





IMANE President and President-Elect with Our Esteemed Speakers, Drs Chopra and Aghababian



Master of Ceremonies, Dr. Sajani Shah



2012 Community Service Award Recipient: Dr. Ammani Dasari



2012 President's Award Recipient: Dr. Onaly Kapasi



2012 President's Award Recipient: Dr. Manorama Mathur

# 2012 ANNUAL MEETING PICTORIAL REVIEW





With Dr. Jamila Khalil, President of APPNE, and Manisha Bhatt, President of SABA-GB



Worcester IMANE Life Members



**Our MMS Chapter Administrators** 



2012 and 2013 Presidents and Chairs of BOT



# 2012 ANNUAL MEETING PICTORIAL REVIEW



**Our Young Physicians** 



2013 Executive Committee and BOT: Drs Nasir Khan, Apurv Gupta, Jatin Roper, Sapna Aggarwal, Seema Arora, Sajani Shah, Sucheta Doshi, Manju Sheth, Subha Thiagarajan, Sameer Kapasi, Srilatha Kodali, Anita Vanka, Suresh Reddy, Manorama Mathur, Ammani Dasari, Geeta Trivedi and Lalit Savla (Not pictured: Dr. Purnima Sangal/BOT)





The most important mentors of all

Best wishes to the 2013 Team and Happy Holidays!

## **2012 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

President Sucheta Doshi, M.D., M.P.H.

> **President** – **Elect** Manju Sheth, M.D.

**Past President** Arun Chaudhary, M.D.

Secretary Sajani Shah, M.D.

Treasurer Seema Arora, M.D.

#### **Members at Large**

Sapna Aggarwal M.D. Sameer Kapasi, M.D. Srilatha Kodali, M.D. Maria Menezes, M.D. Subha Thiagarajan, M.D.

**YPS Representative** Jatin Roper, M.D.

## **BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

Pankaj Shah, M.D. (Chair) Apurv Gupta, M.D., M.P.H. Purnima Sangal, M.D. Manorama Mathur, M.D. Geeta Trivedi, M.D.

## NOMINATING COMMITTEE CHAIR

Payal P. Gupta, M.D.

AAPI REPRESENTATIVE Lalit Savla, M.D.